New date for the Summer Marathon: 2-5 September 2001

Obligatory choice after the displacement of the 1000 Miglia

The podium of the last Summer Marathon | © Photo Summer Marathon

share this article

The tenth edition of the Summer Marathon will take place from 2 to 5 September 2001. This is a Superclassica regularity race that had to find a new date after the displacement of the 1000 Miglia.

99 cars built before 1981 will be admitted to the competition, while 25 modern "grand sport" cars will be selected to take part in the TRIBUTE SUPER CARS.


From a technical point of view, the race will take place over 4 days and 3 stages for a total of 738 kilometres with 69 classic time trials and 6 average trials.


The nerve centre of the event will be the Val di Sole and in particular the tourist resort of Commezzadura, which will be the headquarters.


There will be 12 Alpine passes (Passo Tonale - Passo Gavia - Passo Foscagno - Passo Eira - Passo Forcola - Passo Bernina - Passo Aprica - Passo Palade - Passo Giovo - Passo Pennes - Passo Mendola. - Passo Carlomagno), while the main towns crossed by the caravan include Pellizzano, Ponte di Legno, Bormio, Livigno, St. Moritz, Malé, Merano, Val Passiria, Vipiteno, Val Sarentino, Andalo and Madonna di Campiglio.